Some Life Insight a la Pink Floyd

03.07.11 // My Mondays

This past weekend I indulged and treated myself to a seat in the audience during a Pink Floyd Laser Light Spectacular event.  It was just as awesome as one might imagine.  Sitting in a darkened theater with Pink Floyd blasting at me, and hyper active visuals to maintain my attention from behind my neon orange 3D glasses was an all-over experience for me; I felt so alive as the music and the lights just washed over my face of awe and my heart of intense connection to it all.

pink floyd

After many-a-video watching trying to find one that was decent enough to share with you, methinks I’ve finally got it.  Take a peak at some other video from a similar show featuring the uber-awesome song “Time.”  One of my favorites, I thoroughly enjoyed this portion of our show too.  Take a peek if you’re ready to be sung to!  (Lyrics written below.)

“Time” – Pink Floyd

Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day
Fritter and waste the hours in an offhand way
Kicking around on a piece of ground in your home town
Waiting for someone or something to show you the way

Tired of lying in the sunshine staying home to watch the rain
And you are young and life is long and there is time to kill today
And then one day you find ten years have got behind you
No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun

And you run and you run to catch up with the sun, but it’s sinking
Racing around to come up behind you again
The sun is the same in a relative way, but you’re older
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death

Every year is getting shorter, never seem to find the time
Plans that either come to naught or half a page of scribbled lines
Hanging on quiet desperation is the English way
The time is gone, the song is over, thought I’d something more to say

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

So . . . I don’t know about EWE . . . but EYE love love LOVE Pink Floyd.  Growing up with a rockstar of a father, I have an almost innate love and appreciation for the music of Led Zeppelin, Van Halen, Rush, Pink Floyd . . . and the list continues.

As a kid, I loved the music because it was an immediate connection to my pops.  As I get older, my adoration for their music only deepens as I’m better able to understand the lyrics and appreciate the imagery.  One of my favorite things to do became lying on the floor in the dark listening to Pink Floyd as loud as I could without being a nuissance to my neighbors.  This act brought me a certain level of peace, sometimes even clarity.  Then, I moved, and stopped doing this.  One random day, I told a friend of mine this same little anecdote.  He insisted we lay on his floor right then and there and listen to an album.  It was amazing.

So, I wonder . . . if I allowed something as simple as this to work its way from my world of action – despite its obvious positive effects – then what kind of bigger and more beneficial behaviors have I also allowed to fall by the wayside: fitness, diet, sleep, water intake, daily walks, meditation, communicating with loved ones, certain acts of self-expression and /or art creation . . .  As just as it’s not about the years in our life, but the life in our years – are we embracing the quality of life we have the potential to achieve?

As is typically the case with music, life experience allows us to hear the same song very differently at different points in our lives.  So, here I sit – after being a fan of the group and their musical spawn for over 20 years, and I’m still awesomely affected by it.  Constantly discovering new meanings and new connections between the music and myself, it really is a gift that keeps on giving.

So, I wonder . . . if life experience can have this kind of an impact just on musical selections, what kind of impact can it have on much bigger and much deeper parts of our lives: our dreams, ideas, goals, relationships, misunderstandings, communications or lack-there-ofs . . .   And like the tree falling in the woods – if we aren’t aware enough of the altered impacts, are they actually happening?

Time is what we want most, but… what we use worst.  ~Willaim Penn

Just a couple things to think about, yeah?

with passion & gratitude — jenbish

Got something to say? I'd love to hear it! :)

